Bryson bags the gongs at SLR Rewards

David Bryson & Sons

David Bryson & Sons was crowned Scottish Local Retailer of the Year last night (19 June) at the SLR Rewards ceremony.

The award rounded off a successful evening for Prestwick-based industry veteran Walter Bryson, with his Londis store also winning the Food-to-go; Forecourt; and Best Refit of the Year gongs.

As a reward for his sterling efforts, Walter will jet off to Atlanta in October for the NACS convention – the world’s biggest convenience retail trade show.

He will be accompanied by Dan Brown, of Pinkie Farm Convenience Store in Musselburgh, who was named as SLR’s first-ever Young Scottish Local Retailer of the Year.

The event – the only one in the convenience industry to reward retailers with proper prizes – was held once again at the Radisson Blu hotel in Glasgow and hosted by TV and radio presenter Kaye Adams.

The evening saw a total of 21 Rewards presented. A full list of winners can be viewed on the SLR Rewards website.

Saleem Sadiq was another of the night’s big winners. His Renfrew store claimed three of the five Rewards won by Spar retailers.

Day Today narrowly missed out on the symbol group bragging rights with a tally of four Rewards. Three of these went to the Day Today Barassie, Troon and Day Today Doonfoot, Ayr stores owned by the retailing partnership of Mandi Duncan and Ross MacPherson.

Nisa bagged a hat trick of wins in the category Rewards. It also basked in the glow of Dan Brown’s win, and that of Abdul Majid’s Outstanding Industry Achievement Reward given in recognition of the former SGF President’s tireless work in furthering the interests of local retailers.

Fernan Ashiq of Day Today Prestonpans and Emma Morgan of Giacopazzi’s Milnathort also left the glittering bash smiling after sharing the £500 cash prize at the event’s retailer elimination game. Emma’s smile was arguably that bit bigger; not only was it her birthday but Giacopazzi’s triumphed in the Sustainability Retailer of the Year category.

SLR Publisher Antony Begley commented: “Congratulations to all of this year’s winners and it was a pleasure to be able to recognise and reward their fantastic efforts over the last year.

“Particular congratulations must go to our Scottish Young Local Retailer of the Year Dan Brown and our Scottish Local Retailer of the Year Walter Bryson, both of whom will be winging their way to the NACS Conference later this year to hopefully find yet more inspiration and ideas to bring back and help with the continued development of their outstanding stores.

“It was also an honour to be able to recognise the decades-long commitment of Abdul Majid to our trade, a man who has honestly and passionately represented Scotland’s local retailers at all levels.”