Shortlist unveiled for Scottish Local Retailer Awards 2014

The shortlist for this year’s SLR Rewards has been unveiled following the successful completion of the first phase of judging. The newly relaunched SLR Rewards recognise and reward excellence and hard work across the Scottish local retailing industry. This year in another industry first for SLR, each and every category winner will receive a hugely valuable business-based Reward with the overall Scottish Local Retailer heading off toLas Vegaslater this year to attend the NACS Conference 2014!

The judges were thrilled with the standard of entries this year, and it wasn’t just the quality that impressed: a record number of entries were received this year, up by over 40% on 2013.

The team at SLR were delighted to see many new retailers getting involved in the Awards for the first time and it is clear that excellence in local retailing was demonstrated to be in existence all acrossScotlandwith stores shortlisted in Benbecula, Biggar and everywhere in between.

All shortlisted entrants are invited to attend the Awards as a guest of SLR.  All winners will be unveiled at the awards ceremony at Grand Central Hotel in Glasgowon Thursday 5th June.

For further details on the awards please visit


Beer Retailer of the Year          

  1. Clydebank Co-Op/Keystore Baldwin Avenue
  2. Eskbank Trading (Costcutter)
  3. Wallyford Superstore (Day Today)


Bread & Bakery Retailer of the Year

  1. Nisa Extra Dundee
  2. Spar Hillfoot
  3. Spar Renfrew


Confectionery Retailer of the Year       

  1. Spar Central Avenue, Grangemouth
  2. Spar Thornliebank
  3. Troon – Day-Today Elite


Crisps & Snacks Retailer of the Year   

  1. Calderbank Day Today Elite
  2. Londis Craigmillar
  3. Shaun’s Premier Store


Making the Most of Milk

  1. Churchill’s Convenience Store (Premier)
  2. McLeish’s
  3. Wallyford Superstore (Day Today)


Newstrade Retailer of the Year

  1. International Newsagents
  2. Spar Glamis Road
  3. Spar Leven Street


Soft Drinks Retailer of the Year

  1. Shaun’s Premier Store
  2. Spar Boswell Park
  3. Wallyford Superstore (Day Today)


Spirit Retailer of the Year        

  1. Barrons of Dyce (Costcutter)
  2. Costcutter (Aviemore)
  3. Parkgate Day-Today Elite


Community Involvement Retailer of the Year   

  1. Broadway Convenience Store (Premier)
  2. Londis Crianlarich
  3. Premier Mo’s Convenience Store


Food to Go Retailer of the Year           

  1. David Bryson & Sons (Londis)
  2. McLeish’s
  3. Spar Maryhill


Fresh & Chilled Retailer of the Year     

  1. Costcutter (Aviemore)
  2. MacLennans
  3. Nisa Extra Dundee


Local Sourcing Retailer of the Year

  1. Best one @ Brownlies
  2. Kincraig Stores & Post Office
  3. Margiotta Dundas Street


Best Refit/New Store of the Year

  1. Cathkin Convenience Store (Day Today)
  2. Family Shopper Lochside
  3. Spar/BP Polbeth Service Station


Responsible Retailer of the Year

  1. Broadway Convenience Store (Premier)
  2. Churchill’s Convenience Store (Premier)
  3. Day to Day Maryhill


Best Use of Technology

  1. Kincraig Stores & Post Office
  2. Shaun’s Premier Store
  3. Spar Renfrew


Employee of the Year 
1. Melanie Bastianiello, Spar Meigle
2. Barry Carthy, Churchills Convenience Store
3. Cathy Stewart, L&M Stores

Leave a Response